Top News, Articles, and Interviews in Philosophy

Berggruen Prize Awarded to Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Philosophy News image
The winner of the 2019 Berggruen Prize for Philosophy and Culture has been awarded to U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg. This is the first time the award, established in 2016, has been bestowed to someone who is not an academic philosopher. The previous awardees of the $1 million prize were Charles Taylor (2016), Onora O’Neill (2017), and Martha Nussbaum (2018). The prize is awarded to “humanistic thinkers whose ideas have helped us find direction, wisdom and improved self-understanding in a world being rapidly transformed by social, technological, political, cultural and economic change.” Originally called “The Berggruen Philosophy Prize,” in 2017 the word “philosophy” was dropped from its name. The chair of the prize committee is philosopher Kwame Anthony Appiah (NYU). Justice Ginsberg, he says, “has been both a visionary and a strategic leader in securing equality, fairness, and the rule of law not only in the realm of theory, but in social institutions and the lives of individuals.” The prize is sponsored by the Berggruen Institute. (via The New York Times) The post Berggruen Prize Awarded to Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg appeared first on Daily Nous.

Continue reading . . .

News source: Daily Nous

blog comments powered by Disqus